Skip to content

Multilateral Cooperation

The multilateral system is a cornerstone of Danish foreign-, security- and development policy. Read more about multilateral cooperation and how Denmark works with international organisations in Washington DC and across the world.

international organisations in d.C.


The International Monetary Fund (IMF) works to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.The Danish relations to the IMF is undertaken by the Danish National Bank and the Danish Ministry of Economic and the Interior in corporation. The governor of the National Bank is member of the Board and the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Economic and the Interior serves as deputy member. The IMF has its headquarters in Washington D.C.

The World Bank Group

The World Bank Group consists of five closely associated institutions. The International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD), the International Development Association (IDA), the International Finance Corporation (IFC), the Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency (MIGA) and The International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID). Denmark became a member of the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development — the World Bank — on March 30, 1946. It was among the first countries to get a loan to help rebuild its economy after the Second World War. Today, Denmark is a member of the five institutions that form the World Bank Group. Denmark and the World Bank work with other member governments to finance projects, design policies, and deliver programs to end poverty in the developing world. The World Bank Group has headquarters in Washington D.C.

Organization of American States (OAS)

The Organization of American States (OAS) brings together all 35 independent states of the Americas and constitutes the main political, juridical, and social governmental forum in the Hemisphere. In addition, it has granted permanent observer status to 67 states (Denmark included), as well as to the EU. The OAS has its headquarters in Washington D.C. The Danish Permanent Observer capacity is conducted by the Embassy.

other international organisations


Denmark has been an active member of the EU since 1973. Denmark has worked for an efficient and well functioning internal market, transparent decision-making, and clear and visible results for the individual citizens. If you want more information about Denmark and the EU, visit the website of the EU Information Centre.

Council of Europe

The Council of Europe (CoE) works to promote democracy, human rights and the rule of law in Europe. The Council of Europe has 47 Member States. Denmark has been a member of the Council of Europe since its establishment in 1949.


Denmark was one of the founding members of the United Nations at its establishment in 1945 and has ever since been a staunch supporter of the United Nations system and for promoting a strong, united, efficient and effective organization. The UN is today the largest multilateral peacekeeping force with up to 120,000 civilian and military envoys in 15 peacekeeping operations. Most of the UN's peacekeeping activities take place in Africa. Denmark has served as a non-permanent member of the Security Council four times: 1953–1954, 1967–1968, 1985–1986 and 2005-2006.


The North Atlantic Treaty entered into force on 24 August 1949. Today, NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization) has a total of 30 member states. Denmark was among the founding countries. NATO's purpose is to promote security and stability in the North Atlantic through political, economic and military cooperation. Democracy, human rights and the rule of law are important elements of the common values.

Nordic Council of Ministers

Nordic co-operation is a regional co-operation that takes place in the Nordic Council and the Nordic Council of Ministers.


The OECD was established in 1961 as the successor to the OEEC (Organization for European Economic Co-operation) to promote economic growth, employment and international trade. The OECD currently has 37 members. Denmark has been a member of the OECD since its inception.


The OSCE is the world's largest regional security organization with 57 participating states from Europe, Central Asia and North America. The organization's main activities include conflict prevention, crisis management and reform support in the field of democracy and human rights.


The World Trade Organization, WTO, was established in 1995 as the successor to the GATT (General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade). The purpose of the WTO is to facilitate trade in goods and services and to create a framework for manufacturers, exporters and importers.


Ms. Anna Cecilie Friis Bach 
Advisor, Development
Tel: (202) 797-5337