Skip to content

International Monetary Fund (IMF)

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) works to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.

Through its economic surveillance, the IMF keeps track of the economic health of its member countries, alerting them to risks on the horizon and providing policy advice. It also lends to countries in difficulty, and provides technical assistance and training to help countries improve economic management. This work is backed by IMF research and statistics.

The IMF has 189 member countries. It is a specialized agency of the United Nations but has its own charter, governing structure, and finances. Its members are represented through a quota system broadly based on their relative size in the global economy.

The Board of Governors, the highest decision-making body of the IMF, consists of one governor and one alternate governor for each member country/constituency. The Executive Board is responsible for conducting the day-to-day business of the IMF. Denmark is represented through the Nordic-Baltic constituency, which has 3,4 percent of the total votes in the IMF Board. The members of the Nordic-Baltic constituency jointly appoint an Executive Director to the IMF Board every third year. The coordination of positions in the Nordic-Baltic constituency is based on consensus.

The Danish relations to the IMF is undertaken by the Danish National Bank and the Danish Ministry of Economic and the Interior in corporation. The governor of the National Bank is member of the Board and the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Economic and the Interior serves as deputy member.